• Home
  • COBRE-PSF participants selected to receive KU 'Leading Light' award

COBRE-PSF participants selected to receive KU 'Leading Light' award

Tuesday, January 15, 2013

Four COBRE-PSF participants were among the forty researchers who received "Leading Light" awards from The University of Kansas in March 2013. Brian Blagg, Medicinal Chemistry; Jianwen Fang, Molecular Structures Group; John Karanicolas, Center for Bioinformatics and Molecular Biosciences, and Jennifer Laurence, Pharmaceutical Chemistry received the award, which recognizes those selected as being among its most productive university researchers. The 40 are principal investigators or co-principal investigators on externally funded grants of $1 million or more awarded during the 2012 fiscal year.

Recipients were recognized at a luncheon, where each received an inscribed bronze sunflower symbolic of Kansas and their leadership in research. This is the second year of the Leading Light Award program. It was established at KU by Jeff Vitter, provost and executive vice chancellor.

"By contributing to the research enterprise at KU in a major way," said Vitter, "these individuals and teams serve as leading lights and role models for others."

Edited from article by Kevin Boatright, KU Office of Research and Graduate Studies